Sometimes, I’ll even pop open a new notebook in Evernote and start typing away (mainly for the syncing capabilities). But if I have a choice, I usually prefer a minimalistic editor that supports full-screen modes. I can write much quicker this way, and I end up getting a lot more done. Currently, I use a nifty Mac- and PC-based application called OmmWriter, though I also like Byword (Mac-only, I believe) and iAWriter. Why do I prefer a full-screen, so-called “minimal” text editor? I could probably go on, but you get the point. OmmWriter (and other similar programs) have really helped me see what I’m capable of as a writer and content producer (which is great when you need to pump out a bunch of articles, stories, and posts on a regular schedule), and it’s helped me to know my potential. If you have a similar experience (or a different one!), drop a line in the comments section and let us know. Everyone’s different, and I love hearing about other ways to increase writing output and quality! (Photo credit: Keyboard on a Notebook via Shutterstock)

Why I Write Using a Minimal Text Editor - 7