Here’s a smattering:

Have clear assignments. I always call repairmen; the Big Man always empties the Diaper Genie. Every once in a while, do your sweetheart’s task, for a treat. This kind of pitching-in wins enormous goodwill. Assign chores based on personal priorities. I hate a messy bedroom more than the Big Man, but he hates a messy kitchen more than I. So I do more tidying in the bedroom, and he does more in the kitchen. Do it yourself. I used to be annoyed with the Big Man because we never had cash in the house. Then I realized: why did I get to assign that job? Now I do it, and we always have cash, and I’m not annoyed. Keep a to-do list. That way, if an energetic mood strikes, you know what needs doing. This works very well with the Big Man. He makes fun of me, but I see him consult the list.

The list is HUGE, and all very useful. Bookmark it. Print it. Make it a set of rules for your house. Thanks, Gretchen. Tips for Getting Your Sweetheart to Do Chores Without Nagging – [The Happiness Project]